The Daily Digital

Chronicling the lives of the Kramer beagles and their hard-working domestic help.

As shown on TV

Posted by laurie on May 22, 2013

pawInside

Just so you know, I have not smoked marijuana in over thirty years. So that can not be the reason behind the dumbest impulse buy I’ve made in quite a while. It’s called the Paw Plunger. It’s like a big coffee mug with a hole in the top and bristles inside. To clean a muddy paw you fill it with water, insert a paw and scrub up and down against the bristles. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

winner

I bought it on Amazon (at least I got free shipping) and there is also a product web site, which even has a video!

noseInside

It’s better with treats inside.

20 Responses to “As shown on TV”

  1. Jeri said

    OMG! this is hilarious! I swear I almost spit my coffee out at the screen I laughed so hard! The look on Stanley’s face is priceless! The look is like “what the hell??” Millie and Sammy say “no way…don’t even think of getting us that!” LOL!!!

  2. Luana, Cody, and Henry said

    But does it really WORK???

  3. howlingchamp said

    I have a humongous one for my golden and it does really work–she actually likes it! Haven’t tried it on the beagles as they don’t get anywhere close to as dirty as the golden does.

  4. Joan said

    Looks like something you could make with a plastic coffee container.

  5. Bailey & Gypsy & Trents dad said

    Past couple of days I’d have run ours through a car wash before they come in…Rolling on the lawn watching the pollen fly!

  6. Susan in DE said

    We just use old-fashioned wet paper towels, and then old hand towels for drying. The mud’s never dried on, so it really doesn’t seem to need plunging/brush scrubbing. Lady regularly has wet paws from running through dewy grass on our morning walks, while Josie sticks to the sidewalk. However, even though Lady is the only one who needs paw/undercarriage drying when we get back, Josie insists on being scrubbed all over with the towel as well. She loooooves being brushed or scrubbed down (But baths are a different story).

  7. harperlea said

    I swear I’ve been lucky with “self cleaning” dogs…. After we water the back yard, Shotzy usually has mud up past her “ankles”… But it seems to disappear fairly quickly…. She does not groom herself or lick it off, and we have hardwood floors, so I don’t know how she gets clean! Of course with all the dog hair bunnies on the floor, maybe I just can’t see it 🙂

  8. Karen S. said

    When it’s winter I use snow to scrub the dogs–works really well at removing all the grime. In warmer weather paper towels do the trick. With 3 dogs that makes 12 paws to clean!

  9. Cathy, Gomez, Lily & Mr. Peabz said

    EVERYTHING’S better with treats inside!

    • JC said

      Well said. Also, this entire post is wonderful. Beagles just bring so much humor to everything…

      • Karen S. said

        Yes, they bring humor to everything, even in chores like changing the bed sheets. I can’t dislodge the dogs from the bed and they like to attack the clean sheets. It takes 30 minutes to change the sheets with them around, but they make it more fun.

      • Cathy, Gomez, Lily and Mr. Peabz said

        Totally agree – dogs, especially beagles make everything more fun and more funny. Might be more of a hassle but it’s SO worth it.

        And Karen, I have the same help with the bed linens. My freshly laundered and freshly made bed always has a big ol’ waggy lump in it.

  10. I saw something similar at Target and was wondering who in their right mind would buy it. Now I know. Ha ha. If you bought it at Costco you could always take it back. Thats where I buy most of my impulse buys so I’m guaranteed a return.

  11. Julie - JB & Cassie's Mum in England said

    You’d have to tie JB down to get his paw inside that – he hates being ‘messed about with’ and we always have growls when he has to be dried with a towel. Funnily enough, if I take a few sheets of paper towel out with us and clean him up just before we get back home, he hardly makes a murmur!

    Cassie doesn’t mind being dried too much but when you rub her back she bows down in the middle. I think she thinks that if she sinks down low enough she’ll sink through the floor and the drying will stop!

    • harperlea said

      Whisky Girl used to do that too… Bowing when rubbed on the back… I could never tell if she liked it or was trying to avoid it…,
      My current 4 love the rubs….

  12. Angela said

    Stanley’s face in that first pic is hilarious! Like, “Mom, you can’t be serious!”

  13. Connie- Notch's Mom said

    This is great!!

    I also have a dog-based impulse purchase confession to make. I bought the beagles an Orapup, which is sort of a tongue scraper for dogs. You put this paste onto the “device” and the dog licks it and it is supposed to remove bacteria that causes doggie breath. For the record it really does seem to help. The dogs love the paste and lick, lick, lick. But as my friend said, “They really don’t have stinky dog breath anymore. Now they just smell like really disgusting bacon.” What’s a beagle mom to do?

    I don’t have anything to do with this product, but if you are interested google Orapup to see for yourself.

    • Karen S. said

      I see the orapup commercials on YouTube all the time. It’s a disgusting commercial because the dog in it is shown drinking from a toilet and eating the contents of a dirty diaper. Yuck. The only time dog breath bothered me was with my beagle Friday. He would eat turds all day and then come inside and get in my face howling for cookies. One whiff would bowl me over–stronger than nerve gas!

Leave a Reply

 
