The Daily Digital

Chronicling the lives of the Kramer beagles and their hard-working domestic help.

Atop Mt. Dew

Posted by laurie on July 22, 2013

july22

I kid you not, two towns over there is a drive through liquor and beverage store. Not like the Dunkin’ Donuts “drive through” or the MacDonald’s “drive through”, you actually drive through the building. A couple of weeks ago I was near the store so I thought I’d check to see if they carried Phillip’s beverage of choice, Diet Mt. Dew. I was tired of loading up my shopping cart with it each week. Not only did they have Diet Mt. Dew, but it came in pallets of 24, and even better, in plastic bottles rather than cans, which he prefers (a true soda gourmand). I brought home 48 bottles of soda and they were gone in a couple of weeks. Hopefully this should take us well into August, but frankly? I’m not counting on it.

12 Responses to “Atop Mt. Dew”

  1. Susan in DE said

    The drive through beverage store concept is brilliant. One of the big attractions in the Outer Banks of North Carolina has been the Brew Thru, which has been there since 1977. http://brewthru.com/ It’s tremendously handy for big purchases, such as Mt. Dew! (or if you need several kegs for a party).

  2. Sue ~ Barney , Jodi, & Huggy Bear's Mom said

    We have a drive thru beverage store here is Spring (Houston) TX, that also sells frozen daiquiris. They give it to you in a cup seal it in a bag, and hand it to you with a straw. hahahaha. Only went once years ago, just for the experience.

    Thought diet soda wasn’t good for you doc? I have been Diet Coke free since April 1, 2013. I also preferred the bottles. I was expecting a very large drop in my weight as I was a large consumer. Not so much, think I gained a few.

    • Cody and Henry's Aunt said

      I, too, have weaned myself off of most diet soda. Can’t drink regular either, ‘cuz I’m diabetic. I usually just drink plain water. Yuck.

      • harperlea said

        My hubby found the Kirkland brand vitamin water… And now I’m hooked. Low carb, but not sure of the sugar content. I also found “Ice” which is sugar free and bubbly water and no carbs .
        Since I’m in paso and it’s 90s plus, I’ve been drinking at least two bottles daily 20 oz each….

  3. Cathy, Gomez, Lily and Mr. Peabz said

    I’m gonna just not even introduce the concept of drive thru beverage stores to my beagie daddy. He would want to move TODAY.

  4. Carol, Eddy's mom said

    Does Sherman have to sit on top until enough Mt. Dew is consumed as to lower him to the ground?

  5. Julie, JB & Cassie's Mum in England said

    Phillip should be an honorary shareholder in the Mt Dew company (Coca Cola?) !!!!

  6. Amy~Cobalt & Onyx's Mom said

    Drive through beverage/liquor stores are all over here in SW Ohio. It was a foreign concept to me at first. When my parents came to visit from NY one year we went through one… quite the novelty! Here they seem to be in places that are very tight, I wonder how everyone navigates the turn!

  7. We were in Australia over 30 years ago and they had these cool drive through liquor stores. At least we thought they were cool. We rented a caravan (camper) and kept driving through everyday to get our beer, just for the thrill. Those were the days, in Australia, when you couldn’t buy liquor on Sundays. In fact I don’t think we could buy groceries either. so we had to do some serious strategy on Saturday. Can’t be on vacation and surfing without a six pack of XXXX beer. Had to buy the beer just for it’s name!

  8. Guess I’ll be calling Phillip Captain Dew!

  9. myboypool said

    Reblogged this on myboypool.

Leave a Reply

 
