The Daily Digital

Chronicling the lives of the Kramer beagles and their hard-working domestic help.

Lily H., T.D., Ph.D. (?), Q.T.P-I-E

Posted by laurie on July 26, 2013

july26

I had lunch with my friend Kate yesterday on campus. The weather was actually cool so we ate outdoors and that meant that Lily could join us. In case you have forgotten, Lily is a malti-poo, and she’s 4-1/2 already, wow.

july26a

Lily works three days a week as a pet therapist! Kate takes her to the big new hospital in Princeton and she visits different wards on different days. She enjoys her work and as you can imagine, the patients love her.

july26b

I am sooooo jealous!

23 Responses to “Lily H., T.D., Ph.D. (?), Q.T.P-I-E”

  1. Luana, Cody, and Henry said

    She’s a little sweetie! I like her ID card!

  2. Karen S. said

    The thought of taking my crazy dogs to a hospital makes me shudder. Especially Timmy “Bonobo” Beagle.

    • Cathy, Gomez, Lily & Mr. Peabz said

      Timmy! I wonder what they’d put on HIS ID card . . .

      I once (ONCE) took two of mine to a rehab place that my mother-in-law was in. Perfectly legal, surprisingly, and it went EXACTLY as you’d guess: they spent the whole time cruising the room for awfulness to eat and stuff to tear up.

    • Carol, Eddy's mom said

      My first thought too, don’t want to think of the chaos Eddy would cause!

      Lily is so cute, she looks like she takes her job seriously 🙂

    • Luana, Cody, and Henry said

      I like “Bonobo” as his middle name! (We know what Bonobos do to show each other affection!)

  3. Cathy, Gomez, Lily & Mr. Peabz said

    I’m jealous – I want ID cards for my dogs too!

  4. Lynne said

    We used to bring our beagle Samantha to a nursing home to visit our mother. Though she was not an official therapy dog she would see a lot of other people on the walk to the room and when leaving. The facility encouraged people bringing pets in to visit. Seeing the faces of the patients light up was just amazing. They loved seeing animals come in. I also brought my cat there with similar reaction from other patients. I am sure Lily is great at what she does and that it makes the patients day to have her visit. What a sweetie pie!!!

  5. Gunner and Bailey's mom Anne said

    YAY Lily! What a wonderful job and destiny for that cutie!

  6. harperlea said

    PhD = Pretty Happy Dog? 🙂
    Lily is quite the darling!

    Shotzy and I had our first clicker training session last night … 😦 it didn’t go well… 35 minute drive and Shotzy gets a bit drooly and doesn’t feel well, and she’s not food motivated… I think I picked the wrong type of class… Except that I love the training philosophy . Needless to say, Shotzy and I were in the corner most of the class… I think we’re going to flunk 😦
    However I did find the one food she will eat even when nervous …. Jack Cheese!!!! The trainers tried to give her real chicken, liver and string cheese, which she had no interest in, but it was the jack cheese I brought that she ate! Yay!
    I’ll keep you all posted on our progress…. 🙂

    • Harperlea, if it makes you feel any better when I took Jake to his training, I had to bring a cooler for his treat of choice–Ice cubes! We graduated last in the class, simply because we kept coming back for more punishment–I mean training. At the age of 6 he went on to pass his Hospice Therapy Test and was certified to be a Hospice dog. Lily, she flunked out of two of the training classes we attempted to go to and we were asked not to return to the 3rd. I gave up and now have an unruly beagle at home who is not allowed in public because she has no manners 🙂 Honestly I don’t think I would take her any other way either! That’s what makes her Lily and him Jake.

      • harperlea said

        I’m planning on seeing this thru — 6 classes total but the first was without the pups …I expect we’ll be last in class, but it’s a start 🙂
        My four love ice cubes also, but Shotzy won’t take them consistently … Especially right before we play ball…
        Thank you Maureen for the positive feedback!!!

    • Luana, Cody, and Henry said

      Cody’s been to two sets obedience classes – never again! (I wouldn’t even bother with Henry!)

  7. Julie, JB & Cassie's Mum in England said

    Beagles and training just don’t mix do they?!!! Our two will sit on command and they wait nicely at pavements to wait to cross the road but otherwise, unless they think we have food, obedience is non existent. The exception is that we have a squeaker that came out of a fluffy toy that Cassie (and JB if he feels like it) will respond to when they’re off lead. So that’s the emergency recall and we don’t use it too often, to keep it special. The other thing that JB responds to is ‘here’s Mr Pigeon’ when we have a pigeon on the lawn – he loves to stalk and chase! He hasn’t quite got the idea that they can fly away though, so the chances of him ever catching one are minimal!

    • Peggy Michaels said

      Julie, I love the “here’s Mr. Pigeon”. Whenever I say “OMG”, Penny stops and growls–think I’ve said it once too often when seeing a Red Tail Hawk, or Quaker Parrot.

  8. Spencer is going for the AKC Canine Good Citizen test tomorrow. Oscar passed with flying colors three years ago but I made Spencer wait until he got a little more “responsible”. I’m a little stressed.

    He loves ice cubes so I always bring them to the regular classes. We all three go every Saturday to a doggie social network class.

    Good luck Harper. It doesn’t matter if you come in last, it just matters that you are doing something positive with your dog.

    • harperlea said

      Aww thanks …. And Darling Shotzy is a German Shepard…. But our Whisky Girl Beagle was a stubborn ol girl… And our Basset Bartles is stubborn too, but MIGHT respond to the clicker training… It rewards the dogs good behavior, and doesn’t punish the bad….

    • harperlea said

      Donna…
      Thinking positive thoughts for you and Spenser today…
      Let us know how you do!
      Harp

    • Luana, Cody, and Henry said

      Good luck to Spencer – hope he makes it!

  9. Susan in DE said

    I spent a week working on training Lady to “Down!” using the clicker. I was telling Rob that she was almost there, and he looked at her and said, “Well, let’s see …. Lady, down!” and she immediately dropped to the floor for him, gazing lovingly into his eyes the whole time.

    I haven’t touched the clicker since then.

    • Ha Ha!

      I’ve read about the clicker from time to time but didn’t think it would work on a beagle.

      • Susan in DE said

        I had great success in training Josie using the clicker. Jordan already knew everything when we got him. Lady knows “sit” and that’s all. Honestly, she is quite convinced that she can wait me out and use those liquid puppy dog eyes and adorable little puppy-like face and hypnotize me into just giving her treats without her actually doing anything for them. I guess it’s served her well in the nine years before she joined our family!

  10. Sue ~ Barney , Jodi, & Huggy Bear's Mom said

    Mine will only ‘sit’ if you have a treat. This one time I was handing out treats and I told them to sit. The boys sat right away, I said “sit” again and I swear Jodi (who was standing) looked at the boys like, you guys better……
    Oh it’s me that needs to sit, and then she sat. I couldn’t help but laugh, wish I would have had a camera.

  11. Sue K said

    Brady is a therapy dog (recently retired). Our church has a therapy dog program and Huey and Brady got certified. Huey has since crossed over the Rainbow Bridge and Brady has retired. We have never entered Ginger into the program mainly because we are so busy on the weekends. I do take them to an assisted living facility once in awhile and the residents love it.

Leave a Reply

 
