The Daily Digital

Chronicling the lives of the Kramer beagles and their hard-working domestic help.

  • Email

    d a i l y d i g i t a l < A T >
    l a u r i e k r a m e r
    < D O T > c o m

Your place for pies

Posted by laurie on November 21, 2012

Tootsie and Buttercup are with us for the week and they plan to join the boys (well, Stanley) in helping me during today’s pie marathon. Here’s what I’m making: two pumpkin pies, a cranberry pie and an apple pie. Plus pumpkin bread. Would you believe I’ve never made an apple pie before? Weird, huh. We are joining the Kramer clan in Brooklyn. Have a great day everyone. I’ll be back next Monday.

21 Responses to “Your place for pies”

  1. Kate (Gandolf's mom, w/ memories of Kramer) said

    WOW you’ll be busy!! That’s a lot of baking. Happy Thanksgiving, and have safe travels!

  2. Beaglemon to Ben & Tito said

    That is the same pie recipe that we use! Apple is not my favourite pie but that one is delicious!
    It gets really bubbly and messy when baking – you may want to bake it on a baking sheet.

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Lynne said

    Wow lots to do today. Hope Tootsie, Buttercup and Stanley got a good nights sleep and that they are prepared to help as needed. Happy Thanksgiving be safe.

  4. Karen S. said

    I tried that cranberry pie last time you mentioned it and loved it! Good luck with all those pies and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Susan in DE said

      My aunt makes the most awesome apple cheddar port wine pie (grated cheese in the pie crust, apple filling with port wine, yum!). Just getting fat thinking about it. LOVE seeing Tootsie and Buttercup again, I’ve missed them! Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

  5. Gunner and Bailey's mom Anne said

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. I am grateful for this wonderful site and all the guest DDs. Everyone’s pups are SO CUTE! Really makes my day. Pie rules!

  6. Cathy, Gomez, Lily and Mr. Peabz said

    I too will be doing a bunch of stuff, including three (maybe two) pies, pumpkin bread and cranberry sauce. After work.
    Fortunately I too have three beagles to help, so it should be a breeze. There wil be flour-covered dogs!

  7. Do Tootsie and Buttercup get to make the trip to Brooklyn too ?

    • laurie said

      No, my sister-in-law lives in a 4-story brownstone and the girls wouldn’t be able to do the stairs. But Uncle Bob will take time out of his day to come over and feed them and say hi.

      • Harper said

        Yay Uncle Bob!
        And I bet he gives them some treats too 🙂

      • Luana, Cody, and Henry said

        We all need an Uncle Bob for our beagles when we aren’t around! How wonderful of him to take care of the girls while you are gone. Of course, we all know how much he enjoys doing it.

        Happy Thanksgiving to all!

  8. Linda UK said

    That all sounds yummy, Laurie 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving to all the DD friends in the US, it will be an ordinary day for us but we’ll think of you!
    BTW, Dylan had two dinners last night due to a (human) mix up in communication so he’s celebrated already!

  9. Peggy Michaels said

    Have a Happy Thanksgiving, and I hope Stanley and Sherman do not get any sidewalk leftovers. The gutters of Brooklyn are like Grand Prospect Hall for Beagles.

  10. Karen S. said

    Laurie, be sure to post pictures of your pies on your facebook page!

  11. Karen S. said

    Oops, I see that Laurie has already posted a pic of her apple pie. And it looks SO good!

  12. Spunky's Mom said

    Enjoy the baking! No Thanksgiving food prep here – kind of a bummer. Spending the holiday with my in-laws, who have decided to eat out this year. At least I won’t have any dishes to do! Made beef stew today in the slow cooker to get my food prep fix – Spunky helped while I cut up all the vegetables. She sampled the raw carrots and potatoes, just to make sure they were good.

    Everyone have a Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  13. Harper said

    Happy Thanksgiving everyone!
    We’re headed to our in-laws also; but they’re only an hour south of us, so a quick day trip. We’ve been assigned a sweet potato dish and the rolls. I printed about 7 recipes off FoodNetwork yesterday, and I have a 2-hour meeting after work today, so my darling hubby gets to pick the recipe and do the shopping (yay). We’ll probably cook the dish together though (he does most of the cooking because he likes to; I’m a BBQ Girl, but he of course does that too 😦 but I cook/BBQ when I can 🙂 )

    Last, but not least HAPPY BIRTHDAY LAURIE! (one day early)…

  14. Julie - JB & Cassie's Mum in England said

    Hope you had a happy birthday Laurie and everyone in the US had a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment